Pastures Way Nursery School Curriculum

The Early Years Foundation Stage is the time in your child’s life between birth and age 5.

This is an important stage as it helps your child get ready for school as well as preparing them for their future learning and successes.

Nurseries, pre-schools, reception classes (as well as childminders registered to deliver the EYFS) must follow a legal document called the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework. This sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe.

The framework sets out:

  • The legal welfare requirements that everyone registered to look after children must follow to keep your child safe and promote their welfare
  • The 7 areas of learning and development which guide professionals’ engagement with your child’s play and activities as they learn new skills and knowledge
  • Assessments that will tell you about your child’s progress through the EYFS
  • Expected levels that your child should reach at age 5, usually the end of the reception year; these expectations are called the Early Learning Goals”
  • There is also guidance for the professionals supporting your child on planning the learning activities, and observing and assessing what and how your child is learning and developing.

The seven areas of learning and development are:

Communication and language development – giving children opportunities to:

  • Experience a rich language environment
  • Develop their confidence and skills in expressing
  • Speak and listen in a range of situations

Physical development – providing opportunities for young children to:

  • Be active and interactive
  • Develop their co-ordination
  • Control
  • Movement
  • Understand the importance of physical activity
  • Make healthy choices in relation to food

outdoor play3

Personal, social and emotional development – helping children to:

  • Develop a positive sense of themselves and others
  • Form positive relationships and develop respect for others
  • Develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings
  • Understand appropriate behaviour in groups
  • To have confidence in their own abilities

Literacy development – encouraging children to:

  • link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write. Children are given access to a wide range of reading materials (books, poems, and other written materials) to ignite their interest

Mathematics – providing children with opportunities to:

  • Develop and improve their skills in counting
  • Understanding and using numbers
  • Calculating simple addition and subtraction problems
  • To describe shapes, spaces, and measures

Understanding the world – guiding children to understand their physical world and their community by:

  • Exploring
  • Observing and finding out about people
  • Places
  • Technology and the environment


Expressive arts and design – enabling children to:

  • Explore and play with a wide range of media and materials
  • Share their thoughts
  • Share ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in:  art, music, movement, dance, role play, and design & technology


  • Your child will have a Progress Check if they attend any Early Years setting while they are two years old. This will identify strengths as well as any areas where progress is less than expected – so additional support may be provided early on.
  • All children are assessed at the end of the Early Years Foundation stage (in the summer term of their reception year). This assessment is called the EYFS Profile and gives a full picture of a child’s knowledge, understanding and abilities, their progress against expected levels, and their readiness for Year 1.

You can find out more about the Early Years Foundation Stage at

The Foundation Years website also includes a range of resources and contacts.